Server loses bat on service

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Tony Coe

Tony Coe Asked 8 years ago

Server serves a legal serve but in the process loses his bat which goes flying out of his hand.

Receiver fails to return serve and claims distraction as a result of flying bat.

Whose point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Tony,

If it causes your opponent to be distracted the umpire will call a let.  It wouldn't be fair to let the point go on.

You would find in most situations the players would stop the point anyway and the server would allow a let to be played.

It is covered in the rules on a Let.

2.09.01  The rally shall be a let 
2.09.01.03  if failure to make a service or a return or otherwise to comply with the Laws is due to a disturbance outside the control of the player;

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Tony Coe

Tony Coe Posted 8 years ago

Many thanks for you prompt response.  We did the right thing then by playing a let.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.