Service rule

Rules

Wilson Cheah
Wilson Cheah Asked 9 years ago

Hello,

Recently I've went back to my old high school to coach the club there, and one person asked a question that I wasn't quite sure on the answer, and I thought it would be nice to get some insight from you guys :)

During the serve, if the ball leaves the hand, it is considered to be in play: but what if the ball accidentally just slipped out from your hand (like you know how some players bounce the ball on the table before serving)? In an official match would the umpire call that out or am I just thinking too much here? 

Thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Wilson,

Usually the umpire would not say anything.  They will call a fault if the player has made an attempt to throw the ball up and then something goes wrong.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.