Service toss

Rules

Rick Westelaken
Rick Westelaken Asked 7 years ago

Hello, sometimes I toss the ball my service wrong in the air and then catch it and i don’t hit the ball or anything. Is that a point for the opponent ? 

Greetings, Rick 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Rick,

Yes that is your opponent's point.  As soon as it leaves the hand it is in play so you have to hit it.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.