Serving - Throwing The Ball with spin

General

Howard Unknown
Howard Unknown Asked 16 years ago

Hi there,

I would like to ask if there is any advantage in spinning the ball while tossing it to serve. I would still have a flat hand, and let it roll off my hand after getting enough momentum to throw it high. This gets a little backspin on the ball when I'm throwing it, but I'm uncertain if it makes a difference. Is there any rule against this type of toss? Or is it even effective at all? Thanks. 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 16 years ago

Hi Howard,

Unfortunately for you this is not legal.  

This is covered in the serving rule.  Here is an extract where it is mentioned.Hope it helps.

The server shall then project the ball near vertically upwards, without imparting spin, so that it rises at least 16cm after leaving the palm of the free hand and then falls without touching anything before being struck.

 


Recommended Video

How to Serve if You Have Limited Function in Your Non Playing Hand

In this video we will discuss some different ideas that you could use to help you serve if you have low or limited function in your non-playing hand. These include throwing the ball up with your dominant hand or throwing the ball up straight from your racket.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.