Serving foul

Rules

Stefan Lozanovski
Stefan Lozanovski Asked 13 years ago

Is it a foul (do you lose a point) or you need to reserve in the following scenario:
you throw the ball up, you hit it with the bat, but the ball doesn't touch the table, it falls directly on the ground (or in another scenario: the ball flies over the whole table and touches the ground on your opponent's side)

Thanks,
Stefan


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Stefan,

As soon as the ball is thrown up it is in play.  So if you don't complete a proper serve after the ball is thrown up you lose the point. 


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Stefan Lozanovski

Stefan Lozanovski Posted 13 years ago

Thanks, Coach! :)

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.