Serving from near the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Rutvik Thakkar

Rutvik Thakkar Asked 6 years ago

This question has always kept me thinking and after the latest video response in which you told that you can move anywhere I couldn't stop asking it. I want to know that whether I can come near the net and from there serve the ball from there (helping me do a really short serve)?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Rutvik,

You have to be behind the end line or an extension of that line so you are not allowed to go close to the net.  It would be easier but unfortunately it isn’t allowed.

Here is an extract of the rule from the ITTF site.

2.06.04  From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 5 years ago

And is a situation like this legal:?

The opponent is standing next to the table between the net and the extension of the end line. But his serve is done BEHIND the end line=the opponent shows me his back.

 

I would add a drawing if I could make it but I do not know how to insert it there.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Yes that is OK as long as the area between the ball and the net is clear.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.