Serving from the side of the table

Rules

Ashraf Syed
Ashraf Syed Asked 12 years ago

Is it allowed in Table Tennis to serve from the sides of the table? If yes, then how close can one get, officially, to the net while serving? 

Thanks and regards.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Ashraf,

The ball has to be behind the end line of the table during the serve until it is hit.  The line of the table can be extended sideways as far as you want.

That means you can't go around the side of the table to hit the serve.


Recommended Video

The Unique Service Rules of Table Tennis

In this video we will discuss 2 unique service rules in the game of table tennis. We have received plenty of questions recently regarding these rules so we have decided to make a video on it.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Ashraf Syed

Ashraf Syed Posted 12 years ago

The answer was really helpful. Thank you once again.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

No problems Ashraf.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.