Serving rule

Rules

richard henderson
richard henderson Asked 11 years ago

I have learned that when a player attempts to serve and misses, his opponent wins the point.  If a player tosses the ball in the air and makes no attempt to serve, does he lose the point?   Thanks

Rick Henderson


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Rick,

Once the ball leaves the hand it is technically in play so even if he doesn't swing at the ball it is the other player's point.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.