Serving turns in doubles

Rules

Johan B
Johan B Asked 8 years ago

Hey super coach!

Could you please clarify the doubles rules?

I've understood that you serve against different players every set.

What determines who serves first in the sets after the first one?

Do you change the serving order when a team reaches points in the final possible set?

Thanks!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Johan,

You do serve to different players each game.

In Game 1 if Player A is serving to Player X, in Game 2 Player X would serve to Player A.

In the 2nd game the team that is due to serve first can decide who is serving first.  Then the appropriate person needs to receive. In the final game of a match when one pair each 5 points, the receiving team changes receivers.

It can be a bit tricky but hope this clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Johan B

Johan B Posted 8 years ago

Thank you!

In the last game, you change both receivers and sides?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Yes you change sides as well.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.