Sweat Ball

Rules

afzainizam dugoh
afzainizam dugoh Asked 14 years ago

Dear Alois,

what if your opponent serve or return the ball or maybe in the middle of a game the ball gets wet due to sweats on the table or etc. and you cant' return the ball because of this, is it consider legal point for my opponent? or can i claim for a 'let ball?'


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Afzainizam,

If the umpire hasn't seen it during the point and the point is played out, then the point stands. 

However, what usually happens in this situation is that the players will decide to play a let and replay the point.  If the umpire will not allow that, then the person who won the point will usually give the next point away deliberately.  In most cases players at the higher level in Table Tennis display good sportsmanship.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Serving Back into the Net

Whose point is it if I serve the ball with backspin so it bounces back into the net? We explain the rule in this video.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.