Swinging at the Ball

Rules

Mike Deubig
Mike Deubig Asked 8 years ago

Hi Coach,

I'm curious...during a rally when your opponent lobs the ball and it lands on your side of the table with a very high bounce, what if you totally missed that ball by accident, recover and then hit the ball back. Is that legal? I have done that in the past (on purpose) for entertainment purposes and it happened when I took my eye off the ball but I have never did that during a match. I know if you do that on a serve, it's the other guy's or gal's point! 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Mike,

It is allowed to swing at the ball twice.  I have seen it done recently even on a return of serve and it was very effective... but very difficult to do.

Even on a serve if you miss it the first time and can somehow revere and hit it on the second swing it would be allowed...


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Arjan van Luttikhuizen

Arjan van Luttikhuizen Posted 8 years ago

I accidentally did this as well with a really high ball in a league match. Making a big smashing swing on the upward trajectory of the ball but missing it entirely and then when the ball was on the way down I was ready to drop it behind the net. My opponent was quite bamboozled and was trying to dispute the point but agreed later that since I did not touch the ball on the first swing it was allowed.

That's the important part here - you can only touch the ball once. As long as it is still in play you could spin a pirouette or do push-ups as long as you hit the ball back in time with a single contact.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.