Table foul

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Santosh More

Santosh More Asked 8 years ago

If I or my bat touches the table while playing a shot is it a foul? and Can I cross the table while playing a shot?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Santosh,

You don't lose a point if you touch the table. You only lose the point if you move the table or if your free hand touches the table.

You can move anywhere as long as you don't interfere with the other person. You can even go to the other end of the court.  You aren't allowed to touch the net though. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Santosh More

Santosh More Posted 8 years ago

Thanks, Sir.

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 6 years ago

Can a player cross the barrier between the two tables and go further?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Kaustubh,

Yes you are allowed to go past the barriers.  There is no rule to stop you from doing that during a rally.


Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 6 years ago

But what if another match is going on on that table near which the player is crossing the barrier and going?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

There is no rule to stop the player from going in there as long as the ball is in play and he is not just being a larrikin.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.