Throw up and catch

Rules

Tanish Panwar
Tanish Panwar Asked 9 years ago

If I toss the ball up but I don't serve and catch the ball back,  Is it a fault serve? 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Tanish,

Yes that is your opponent's point.  As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Johan B

Johan B Posted 9 years ago

However, in matches without referees with many tables nearby, it might me acceptable to do that in the case of a disturbance, but not if you just messed up your throw a bit


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

That is right Johan.  It really needs to be a let from another ball coming in that stops you from serving the ball.


Tanish Panwar

Tanish Panwar Posted 9 years ago

Thanks Alois and Johan

 


Frederick Potgieter

Frederick Potgieter Posted 6 years ago

Hi gentlemen. Where does the serve actually start?...at the two seconds count with a quiet hand with ball on the hand? And if so...can I then change my mind and turn in another direction for a different type if serve because I have been called dault dor naking as if I want to serve...change ny mind sort of. Was I wrong?


Virgil Birch-Abban

Virgil Birch-Abban Posted 6 years ago

It might be because you took to long to serve because there is a rule where at the discretion of the referee a fault can be because you've taken too long to serve


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.