Throw up and catch

Rules

Tanish Panwar
Tanish Panwar Asked 9 years ago

If I toss the ball up but I don't serve and catch the ball back,  Is it a fault serve? 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Tanish,

Yes that is your opponent's point.  As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Johan B

Johan B Posted 9 years ago

However, in matches without referees with many tables nearby, it might me acceptable to do that in the case of a disturbance, but not if you just messed up your throw a bit


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

That is right Johan.  It really needs to be a let from another ball coming in that stops you from serving the ball.


Tanish Panwar

Tanish Panwar Posted 9 years ago

Thanks Alois and Johan

 


Frederick Potgieter

Frederick Potgieter Posted 7 years ago

Hi gentlemen. Where does the serve actually start?...at the two seconds count with a quiet hand with ball on the hand? And if so...can I then change my mind and turn in another direction for a different type if serve because I have been called dault dor naking as if I want to serve...change ny mind sort of. Was I wrong?


Virgil Birch-Abban

Virgil Birch-Abban Posted 7 years ago

It might be because you took to long to serve because there is a rule where at the discretion of the referee a fault can be because you've taken too long to serve


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.