Throwing up and missing the ball

Rules

Arthur Rentz
Arthur Rentz Asked 13 years ago

My question comes up in playing at our senior center. After throwing the ball up off the palm the paddle misses the ball. Is this a loss of point? 

We have one player that states the ball must be struck before it is in play.

Thank you for your time and patience. 

Art Rentz 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Art,

The rule is that the ball is started when the ball is thrown up.  So if you throw the ball up and miss it completely it is definitely a fault and the other persons point.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Crossing Over to the Other Side

Where on the court are you allowed to go? In this lesson we show you exactly what you are allowed to do. We also answer the question on whether you are allowed to stand on the table.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.