Toss rule and doubles serve rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Asked 6 years ago

Q.1 If a player is serving, he tosses the ball and holds the ball in his hands when the ball comes down, does he lose the point or it is a let?

Q.2 In doubles, when a player serves from the right box of his side of the table, the ball first falls on the right box of his side and then falls on the white line dividing the side of the opponent pair, does the serving pair lose the point or it is right serve?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Kaustubh,

If you throw the ball up it is in play.  If you catch it again you lose the point.

If the ball lands on the middle line on a doubles serve it is in.  It is difficult to tell whether it is on the line or not because the line is so thin.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 6 years ago

Sorry sir I have asked so many questions this month.

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 6 years ago

Most of the players that play in the club I play seem to be unaware about the rule I asked in Q.1

Gordon Hume

Gordon Hume Posted 6 years ago

And most players in my club seem to be unaware of the rule asked about in question 2!  LOL

A couple of supplementary questions for you about doubles serves, though, Alois: is it the centre of the ball that has to be on the line for it to be in, or any part of the ball?

And, in the case of a dispute on this matter, in a friendly match without an umpire, is the etiquette to always play a let?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Gordon,

It is really difficult to tell if it is the centre of the ball or not as the line is quite thin and the ball relatively small.  I think if it covers the line at all then it has hit the line and if not then it is out.

In a friendly match it is Ok to play a let but in an official match the umpire has to make a decision.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.