Rules
Just watched your latest video on 5 commonly unknown rules. Two more you could add (that I find are unknown at my club level) are;
Hi Steve,
Thanks for watching our video and for your suggestions on additional unknown rules! Both points you've mentioned are indeed significant and often overlooked at the club level.
1. Ball hitting the net post or its support: According to the official rules of table tennis, the rally continues if the ball hits the net assembly (which includes the net, its posts, and the clamps attaching them to the table) and still lands on the opponent's side of the table. This rule can lead to some unexpected plays and is definitely something players should be aware of. It's great that you've pointed this out from your experience as an umpire.
2. Calling a time-out: This is another rule often forgotten or unknown at the club level. Each player or team is entitled to a one-minute time-out during a match. A player can request a time-out by making a 'T' sign with their hands or verbally informing the umpire. It's a strategic tool that can be used to disrupt an opponent's rhythm, regather thoughts, or discuss tactics briefly with a coach.
Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:
✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match
Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.