"Warming up" during the match

Rules

Yap Zhi De
Yap Zhi De Asked 9 years ago

Hi Alois

Why some players can have "warm ups" during the match? They could do a forehand to forehand "training" during the match and that point will not count, can you really do that in a match? In this video, Zhang Jike does some forehand with Fang Bo before serving in 33:37 before starting the next point.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRENIif_C5M


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Yap,

This happens when they change balls and use a new ball usually because the ball they were using has broken.

They usually just do a few hits to make sure the new ball is OK.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 9 years ago

Thanks


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.