Wet cloth frequencies

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Johan B

Johan B Asked 4 years ago

Is there a rule regarding how often you're allowed to step on a wet cloth to keep good grip under your shoes?

Yesterday, an opponent of mine got annoyed and said I could only do it every 6 points. I didn't make a fuss about the time, because I had plenty of time for it whenever he had to pick up the ball, which was often, but I'm pretty sure this rule of his was rectum derived at the spot; why would there be a rule about it when the rules are written assuming good floors? It seems more comparable to wiping your hands on the table.

(Karma hit him hard though: he kept serving the same no spin serves to my backhand, and I kept gently counterhitting them back low over the net cross court. I think half of them ended up bouncing on top of the net. Afterwards he said that's why I won and I just said maybe he shouldn't keep doing the same serve over and over and expect different results cool)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Johan,

Very cheeky...

There is no rule about using a wet cloth.  As long as the game isn't being held up constantly there should be no problem.  The 6 point rule pertains to towelling yourself.

I think it is more important that you are feeling safe and have grip on your shoes.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Johan B

Johan B Posted 4 years ago

Thank you, supercoach!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Haha, no problems...


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 4 years ago

What's annoying is when players get to the wet towel between every point and then dry them by scraping them on the floor, making strident noises. If it is done too much too often, it can be really irritating and distracting.


Marcin Lonak

Marcin Lonak Posted 4 years ago

This noise is the only thing why i would consider to quit table tennis. I hate it!!!

Nothing is perfect



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.