What happens if the server is distracted during serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 9 years ago

Gerard McCarthy

Gerard McCarthy Asked 9 years ago

What should an umpire call in the following situation? A player starts the serve, moving the hand upwards with the ball in contact with the palm of the hand. There is a distraction of some sort, such as a loud noise on the adjacent court or a team mate or opposition team member watching from 2 metres to the side of the table moved quite a lot. The server holds the ball (the ball did not leave the hand at any time) and apologises with reference to the distraction. The umpire did not call a let himself and wasn’t intending to do so. Should the umpire call a let himself or should he call a fault and encourage the player to continue the play unless a let is called? As a player at club level I have done this a few times, and would like to know whether I should expect to lose the point if I do it again.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Gerard,

Technically it is a fault, however the umpire can warn the player.  The player should keep playing until a let is called by the umpire.

In practical terms, his should probably be a let in most cases.  It is not intentional by the server to put off the other player.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.