What is the rule when serving in a singles game

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 12 years ago

andrew brand

andrew brand Asked 12 years ago

Im not sure whether you have to serve to alternating sides of your opponents court - eg your right to their right of the dividing line, and on the next serve from your left to their left of the dividing line. some of my friends insist on this way. others say that only applies in doubles  therefore in singles it just has to go over the net.  Please clear this dilemma up for me. thank you.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Andrew,

In singles you can serve from anywhere to anywhere.  The line down the middle of the table is only for the doubles serve.

Take a look at our Rules Lesson.  There is also a link there to print out a copy of a summary of the important rules.  You can even print it out and take this to your next rules argument.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

andrew brand

andrew brand Posted 12 years ago

THANKS FOR CLEARING THAT UP. JUST WONDERED AT THE END OF YOUR ANSWER YOU SAY TAKE A LOOK AT YOUR <A. WHAT IS <A?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

Sorry, I hope that is fixed now.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.