Who makes the call?

Rules

Phillip Simmons
Phillip Simmons Asked 10 years ago

When playing doubles and the server is serving very close to the center line, who has the call if the serve is in or out?  Specifically, if there is a disagreement, (there is no umpire or referee) does the server or receiver have the final say?

Phil


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Phillip,

There is no rule for this as the rule says the umpire makes the call.

I always say that if there is no umpire and you are both really unsure just play it again.  This isn’t the rules of Table Tennis but it may be the best way to go in this situation.  It then opens up to players disputing a ball they know was in or out to get a let played but I think we have to assume that most players are honest.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.