A legal Serve

General

Dan Unknown
Dan Unknown Asked 16 years ago

I have been away from the game for about 10 years.  I recently started playing again.  I was told its illegal to hide the ball, your paddle, or the toss when serving.  I watch some of the serving on these clips or in the 2008 Olympics and it looks like they are hiding the ball and their bats.....am I missing something?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 16 years ago

Hi Dan,

Yes the opponent needs to be able to see the ball thorughout the serve. You can hide your bat, just not the ball.


Recommended Video

Legal and Effective Serves for Beginners

Serving effectively while staying within the rules is crucial to improving your table tennis game. In this video, we simplify the essential serving rules you need to know and share tips to add pace and precision to your serves. Whether you're a beginner or looking to fine-tune your skills, this guide will help you master serves that are both legal and powerful.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.