About service

Rules

Avinash Bussa
Avinash Bussa Asked 7 years ago

When we are going to serve, the ball touches the table before we hit it. Is that a point to opponent?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Avinash,

Once you throw the ball up it is in play.  So if it then hits the table before you hit it, your opponents gets the point.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.