Ball Breaking on Contact

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Shawn 619shawn

Shawn 619shawn Asked 6 years ago

During a match that I had, I made a smash and the ball broke during the impact, making me miss my shot. Would that be a let, or my opponent's point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Shawn,

That would usually be called a let.  It would be a bit unfair if the point was awarded against you.

The ITTF rule that covers this is:

2.09.01  The rally shall be a let 
2.09.02.04  because the conditions of play are disturbed in a way which could affect the outcome of the rally. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.