Ball returning with backspin

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Eric Ferguson

Eric Ferguson Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois,

During a recent match with my coworker we encountered a situation where we didn't know who is to be awarded the point.  We had a good rally going and I hit a drop shot with so much back spin that after bouncing once on my opponents side, close to the net, it came back to my side of the table where the ball died.  Would this be my opponents point because the ball came back to my side after one bounce, or my point because my opponent did not physically return the ball?

Thank you for your help!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Eric,

That is your point.  Your opponent has to hit the ball before it comes back for the rally to continue.

By the way... good shot!


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Eric Ferguson

Eric Ferguson Posted 7 years ago

Thank you for your response and compliment :)

I have only been playing for a few weeks and that's only with my coworkers during breaks, haven't been able to find anybody to play with around where I live.   I'm loving the game and have found your site and videos very helpful.  My plan is to upgrade to premium membership after I master the techniques available for free.

Thanks again Alois, and everybody at Pingskills!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Hi Eric,

No problems at all.  Glad that you are finding the site useful.  It is always nice to hear those words.

I will pass on your sentiments to Jeff... that makes everybody at PingSkills!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.