Bat hitting the table rule

Rules

Parikshit Kumar
Parikshit Kumar Asked 13 years ago

What are the rules if while hitting a shot the bat hits the table?

If while serving the ball the ball hits the edge of the table on the server's side or on the receiver's side, still is it a legal serve?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Parikshit,

The bat is allowed to hit the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.

If the ball hits any of the edges of the table it is still considered in.  It must hit any part of the top surface of the table.  If it hits the side of the table then it is out. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.