Bat touching the table

Rules

Pedro Saenz
Pedro Saenz Asked 13 years ago

hi, my school is gonna make a table tennis tournament and i might end up being the umpire, so i have a question about something that many people have problem with, if you serve but your bat hits the table is it a valid serve? and, if you hit the table with the bat during a rally is it valid? please answer as quickly as you can (if you could make a video for youtube it would be awesome)


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Pedro,

This is an easy one.  Your bat is allowed to touch the table.  The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand.  You also are not allowed to move the surface of the table at all.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.