Before you serve

Rules

bryne disney
bryne disney Asked 12 years ago

When both players are in position to play can the server hit the ball in the air and catch it and then serve, or hit the ball (bounce) off the floor before a serve.ie tennis style.

Cheers Bryne


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Bryne,

If the umpire deems that the player has started his serve then he wouldn't be allowed to do that.  If it is before he has started then it is usually allowed as long as it is not excessive.

There has to be a pause after he hits the ball in the air or onto the floor.  The ball has to be still (stopped) in his hand.

Has it been a problem?


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.