Can I catch the ball when serving?

Rules

Oliver
Oliver Asked 13 years ago

If you toss the ball up, can you catch it again and perform the serve again or does the serve start when you toss it up and cannot be repeated?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Oliver,

The serve starts as soon as the ball leaves the hand so if you catch it again you lose the point. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.