Can I change hands

Rules

Merric Christraj
Merric Christraj Asked 8 years ago

Hi, 

I am Merric. I am a right hander. But if the ball goes longer to the left side can change my bat to left. Is it legal?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Merric,

Yes that is legal.  In fact some of the top players will do it... but only on a very rare occasion.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 8 years ago

As demonstrated here.


Marcin Lonak

Marcin Lonak Posted 8 years ago

Thank you Jean,

i am a huge Grubba fan, and was of course curious if I will see him in that video. He was the real two handed table tennis player since he was originally a left handed person who was told to play TT right handed.

only Andrzej and Timo Boll used their other hand with control. The other people on this video use the other hand out of misery and with so little controll as my playing abilities. Sorry but it's true

 


Neal Van Haverbeck

Neal Van Haverbeck Posted 8 years ago

I occasionally see a player change hands but only in a desperate attempt to keep the rally going. At club play level it usually results in an easy return . I personally put my trust in an extended backhand to try to save the point. Juggling the paddle while attempting to continue the rally brings its own set of risks.

 

Neal Van Haverbeke


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.