Change of holding bat in a single match

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Mahesh Kumar

Mahesh Kumar Asked 4 years ago

Hi Alois,

Can we do the penhold service and quickly turn into handshake mode? Because penhold allows to generate more wrist work and my penhold backhand is very weak. .It works for me in doubles. 

Is it allowed to do switching of bat handling during during match?

Is it worth it?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Mahesh,

It is allowed but I don't think it is worth it.

You can just modify your shakehand grip by releasing the fingers from around the handle.  With that modification you can use your wrist the same way as you do with the penhold grip.  Then it is easier to get back to your shakehand grip for the rally.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.