Changing bat in doubles

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Bob James

Bob James Asked 6 years ago

Hi,

i was wondering whether, in doubles, you and your partner are able to switch bats between points. I know that you can't get a new bat, but i couldn't find an answer to this anywhere. Thanks.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Bob,

You have an interesting question.  My first reaction would be no but I don’t know how the rule covers that.

I will send it out to our expert, Graeme Ireland.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Bob James

Bob James Posted 6 years ago

Thanks Alois!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

We have a reply from Graeme Ireland, who in my opinion is the best in the business of Umpiring and Refereeing in the World.  Thanks again Graeme for clearing things up.

Hi Alois,
 
No, this is not allowed. As you know, in terms of 3.4.2.4 a racket can only be changed if it has been accidentally damaged, and in this scenario both players would be illegally changing their rackets. Whilst a doubles pair is sometimes treated as a single entity, in many cases it is treated as two individuals, and this is one of those cases. 
 
Regards
Graeme


Bob James

Bob James Posted 6 years ago

Thanks for the info! 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.