Changing hands

Rules

Steve Vaugier
Steve Vaugier Asked 13 years ago

Coach, Once the ball is thrown up in the air for a serve can you switch hands before the ball is struck; I want to do it as a matter of deception. Thanks for your help, Steve


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Steve,

No you have to throw it up with your free hand.  This is allowed if you have a disability but you need special exemption to do it.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.