Changing the bat between hands

Rules

Ali Zarei
Ali Zarei Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff , can we change the bat between our hands during a rally? I mean I can't reach a ball and I'm right handed can I play a shot with my left hand? Thanks.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Ali,

Yes this is perfectly good.  You aren't allowed to have two bats though.

You will see some of the top players changing hands at times.  Timo Boll has done this a few times when he is caught with the ball wide on his backhand side.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Touching the Table

Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


DHS Lover

DHS Lover Posted 12 years ago

For sure, you must train with both of your hands if not, i prefer to move faster and use one of your hand that you've mastered because it took a long time to practice with the other hand rather than with the other grip

Ali Zarei

Ali Zarei Posted 12 years ago

Thanks Alois that really helped. Good responsability. You answer all questions.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

No problems Ali.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.