Rules
I’ve just started playing doubles and am left handed. I’ve been told that I must stand behind the table end and not on the corner. Thought it would be ok if the ball was definitely behind table end of table ?
Hi Jackie,
What they are telling you isn't correct.
You are allowed to stand wherever you like but the ball needs to be behind the end line of the table or the extension of the end line. As a left hander it is best to stand on the corner or even around the side of the table a little to allow yourself to serve with your forehand easily.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.