Dropping your service hand below table level

Rules

Pieter Holwerda
Pieter Holwerda Asked 2 years ago

What is the rule if a player drops his service hand below table level and then throws the ball up as his hand comes back above table level to serve?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Pieter,

The hand has to remain above the level of the playing surface throughout the service.  That means that once you have the ball in your hand and ready to serve till the time you hit the ball.

If the hand goes below the surface usually you will get a warning, but not necessarily.  Int is technically a fault and the other person's point.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Rules Overview

This video lesson takes you through the essential Table Tennis rules. Watch the video and become an expert in topics such as how to win points, what score to play up to, and how to serve in doubles. There is no need to have arguments over the rules so get all your friends to watch this lesson too!

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.