Dropping your service hand below table level

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Pieter Holwerda

Pieter Holwerda Asked 1 year ago

What is the rule if a player drops his service hand below table level and then throws the ball up as his hand comes back above table level to serve?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Pieter,

The hand has to remain above the level of the playing surface throughout the service.  That means that once you have the ball in your hand and ready to serve till the time you hit the ball.

If the hand goes below the surface usually you will get a warning, but not necessarily.  Int is technically a fault and the other person's point.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.