Hands above the table for serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois

When I serve, it is mandatory that I always keep my racket, my racket hand and my free hand above the table?

thank you.

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Alex,

You don't need to keep the racket above the table but you do need to keep the ball above the playing surface.  Once you have thrown the ball up you can move your free hand below the table.  

You used to have to keep the racket above the table but this rule has been removed.  It was useful mainly in the days of the having the same colour on both sides of the racket so that your opponent could tell which side of the racket you were hitting the ball with.  Now with two colours the rule is irrelevant.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 7 years ago

so y can have the racket under the table. ok thank you

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Yes that is right.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.