Hiding the bat or ball by body in Service

Rules

Md Musabbir
Md Musabbir Asked 5 years ago

Can a player hide the bat or ball or both by his body during the service? Is there any written clause? if Yes, please mention.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi,

The bat doesn't have to be seen by your opponent but the ball does.

In the rules the relevant rule is 2.6.4

From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Dropping Paddle During Play

What happens if you drop your racket in the middle of the rally. Are you allowed to continue the rally?

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.