Hiding the Serve

Rules

Sourav Mehra
Sourav Mehra Asked 12 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff!

I wanted to ask if there is any rule which tell us that a player cannot serve under his free hand.  My opponent serves me with his hand over his action when he makes the contact on the ball with his racket.I can't see the ball for nearly for 0.1 seconds.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Sourav,

There certainly is a rule about this.

2.06.04

From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry. 

So as you can see his serve would be illegal.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.