Rules
I accidentally hit the ball through an unintentional gap between net and table top. So the ball would have hit the join in the centre of the table. Is it legal? I guess the poor table was actually illegal, but it’s used by beginners to have fun.
Brian
Hi Brian,
Unfortunately that is not a legal shot. The ball needs to go over or around the net and isn't allowed to go between the net and the table.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.