Hitting your fingers

Rules

Lance Wells
Lance Wells Asked 8 years ago

When you play a stroke and the ball hits not only your bat but your fingers and still goes in does it count as a valid return or do you lose the point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Lance,

Up to your wrist is considered to be part of your bat.  So even if the ball hits both your finger and the bat it is still in.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


steve king

steve king Posted 8 years ago

I have though about putting rubber on my fingers more than once....


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.