illegal service?

General

Dave Berkon
Dave Berkon Asked 15 years ago

I recently played in a tournament and during a match, my opponent intentionally served the ball using the back of his hand. Is this a legal serve? Thanks


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 15 years ago

Hi Dave,

Technically it is as long as it only hits his hand once and it doesn't also hit his bat.

It is not something that will hold up for very long though.  The rules says that up to your wrist is part of the bat.  But it is very difficult to hit the ball with the back of your hand and only hit it once.  It often hits your hand twice on the way through or also hits your bat.  This is considered a double hit and illegal.


Recommended Video

Service Rules

Many players unknowingly break the service rules in table tennis. In this video, we break down the official ITTF service rules so you can serve correctly and avoid faults. Whether you're a beginner or a competitive player, mastering the rules will give you an edge in your matches!

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.