Injury time

Rules

Hoàng Trọng Tấn Hoàng
Hoàng Trọng Tấn Hoàng Asked 7 years ago

Hi sir

If a player has an injury and he can't play anymore, does the referee stop the match and continue in another day.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Hoang,

Here is the rule:

 

The referee may allow a suspension of play, of the shortest practical duration, and in no circumstances more than 10 minutes, if a player is temporarily incapacitated by an accident, provided that in the opinion of the referee the suspension is not likely to be unduly disadvantageous to the opposing player or pair.

A suspension shall not be allowed for a disability which was present or was reasonably to be expected at the beginning of the match, or where it is due to the normal stress of play; disability such as cramp or exhaustion, caused by the player's current state of fitness or by the manner in which play has proceeded, does not justify such an emergency suspension, which may be allowed only for incapacity resulting from an accident, such as injury caused by a fall.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 7 years ago

"... provided that in the opinion of the referee the suspension in not likely to be unduly disadvantageous to the opposite player or pair." I wonder when that would apply. Can you imagine a situation where a player is "incapacitated by an accident", but would be refused a break because it would be disadvantageous to his opponent ?


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.