Judgmental error of outside baseline

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Chetan Choudhary

Chetan Choudhary Asked 3 years ago

Scenario:

During a rally, I feel that the ball is going out, so I think of catching it (and I make an action of catching it), but during the flight, the ball Hits the baseline and I hit the ball correctly to the opponents side.

The opponent says I tried obstructing and diverting his attention.

Who's point is it?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Chetan,

In general this would be your point.  If you are deliberately trying to put your opponent off and it happened a few times then the umpire may think that you are deliberately distracting your opponent.  I have never seen an umpire award a point against the player that makes an error of judgement.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Chetan Choudhary

Chetan Choudhary Posted 3 years ago

Thanks a lot Alois for the prompt response.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.