Left hand and Right hand in the same game

Rules

Prosenjit Das
Prosenjit Das Asked 8 years ago

Hi Alois,

Can you please tell me in a single game whether is it allowed to switch from one hand to another hand, e.g., switching from right hand to left hand, and possibly again to right hand?

With regards,


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

Hi Prosenjit,

Yes you are allowed to change hands in a match.  In fact you are allowed to do it in a rally as well.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Prosenjit Das

Prosenjit Das Posted 8 years ago

Thank you :)


Gordon Hume

Gordon Hume Posted 8 years ago


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.