Rules
Hi there,
I just had an argument with a friend over position of the receivers racket. I understand that for the server, at the time of contact during the serve, the point of contact should be behind the line of the table. Does the receiver have to keep their racket behind the line of the table on their side as well? Or the receiver can hover their racket over the table (while not touching the table) as the server serves?
Hi Salman,
Thanks for your question. The rules regarding the position of the receiver's racket in table tennis are quite straightforward. Unlike the server, who must make contact with the ball behind the end line of the table and above the playing surface, the receiver has no such restrictions concerning the position of their racket. The receiver can position their racket anywhere on their side of the table and can even hover their racket over the table or be touching the table with their racket as they prepare to return the serve. The only requirement is that the receiver does not touch the table with their free hand, as this would be considered a fault.
So, you are correct in your understanding. I hope this clears up the confusion.
Are you allowed to touch the table during play? The only thing that isn't allowed to touch the table is your free hand. You leg, elbow, playing hand, and even your bat are allowed to. You are not allowed to move the table however.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.
Salman Banani Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your reply.