Rules
While playing with my opponent I felt that something was wrong when tossed the ball for a serve my opponent asked me to stop as he wasn't ready then after a pause of 4 to 5 seconds I served again and again the same thing happened finally when the fourth time I served he got ready so is it legal or once the ball is tossed up he cant stop me? And once the serve is done can he take the ball in his hand and argue that he wasn't ready and what if he returns the serve with his bat and says that he wasn't ready?
Hi Rutvik,
Play should be continuous. So unless something has happened the other player in normal circumstances should get ready straight away to play the next point.
If there is an umpire he should determine if the other player was ready or not.
In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.