Reason for the fault call

Rules

Saketh R
Saketh R Asked 13 years ago

In this video why did mizutani lose the 4th set last point in which mizutani was 9 and zhang jike was 10?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

HI Saketh,

The incident happens at around 6:50.  The umpire has called a fault for something.  I would say it is because he has his body between the ball and the net during the serve.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Edge

What part of the table is considered to be in and what part is out... What happens if you hit the edge?

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 13 years ago

also I think that he is hitting the ball a little bit beyond the line.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago

Do you mean end line or side line?


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 13 years ago

Both. but in this case the one that matters is the end line.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago

Great, just wanted to clear it up.


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 13 years ago

Yes I know, it's a common mistake that i made time ago of thinking that hitting the ball beyond the side line is ilegal... 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.