Return shot hits net support

Rules

Charles Jackson
Charles Jackson Asked 12 years ago

If a return shot hits the metal net support and then lands on the opponent's table, is it still a good shot?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 12 years ago

Hi Charles,

Yes, this is still good.  The net post and supports are considered as part of the net.  So this would be the same as i the ball hits the net and goes in.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Aasim Showkat

Aasim Showkat Posted 12 years ago

If the ball hits any part of the table then lands on the opponent's coat (even if it is not possible), is that a correct shot.


Jeff Plumb

Member Badge Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

Sorry Aasim but I'm not sure what you mean by the opponent's coat.


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 12 years ago

I don't think it is possible but as soon as it hits anything except the top of the table the ball is out of play and the point ends.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.