Rules - rubber discolouration

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Rohan I am

Rohan I am Asked 2 years ago

Hi guys.  Can you (or the PS resident rules guru) tell me please if it is legal to use a rubber that has been partially discoloured (stained)?

I've just returned from several weeks O/S and pulled one of my bats out from its case to find the red side stained with some black dye.  I can only assume it came from the case's material despite ensuring the bat was 100% dry before being packed away.  I attempted to clean the rubber with a foam rubber cleaner but it made no difference.  The stain appears to be deep within the rubber and is, I fear, permanent.  It is still primarily red but has a blotchy appearance.

The rubber itself seems fine, with good surface grip and no apparent changes to the rubber or sponge performance, so I'm reluctant to throw away a $60 rubber just because it looks ... 'ugly'. 

Am I allowed to play competition with such a rubber?  Cheers.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Rohan,

The rule says that:

  1. 2.4.6  The surface of the covering material on a side of the blade, or of a side of the blade if it is left uncovered, shall be matt, bright red on one side and black on the other.

  2. 2.4.7  The racket covering shall be used without any physical, chemical or other treatment.

2.4.7.1 Slight deviations from continuity of surface or uniformity of colour due to accidental damage or wear may be allowed provided that they do not significantly change the characteristics of the surface.

I guess it wold be up to the interpretation of the referee at the event of what a slight deviation is.  If it is a local competition I think in most cases it would be acceptable.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rohan I am

Rohan I am Posted 2 years ago

Also their interpretation of  "... significantly ..." and even their ability to determine the original characteristics of the surface to be able to assess if any change had occurred at all.  You just gotta love rules :)



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.